1, 2, 3…GO. Busy, Busy, Busy!

Well it has been a little over two weeks since I have blogged and it has been a whirlwind! Hence why I haven’t posted in a while. I have traveled, spent time with family and friends, and certainly lost much needed sleep! The week after the Fourth I was able to attend the JDRF One Walk conference with Mia and Anna. There we were able to listen in on the T1D Voices council for the afternoon, this also included Nicole Johnson, which was a delight in being able to see her! I stayed the whole afternoon and learned of concerns and other plans JDRF is involved in. IT WAS AMAZING. Once again I left there calling my parents telling them everything I had just learned, I just couldn’t hold it in. The next day I was able to go to a hearing titled 21st Century Cures: The Patient Voice, coincidentally there was a lot of conversation prior in the T1D Voices Council in regards to patient voice and quality of care, therefore I was ready to listen and learn much more! After the four hour hearing on the hill, I ran home, packed, and got in the car with my friend Jackson and began making the trek home to spend the weekend with family! Jackson and I spent the 7-hour car ride listening to stand up comedians, laughing our heads off, and belting songs out (especially Drunk in Love by Beyoncé) Arriving home was great! While I love DC and cannot wait to get back to Auburn, I could not help but think going home that weekend would be the last time until Thanksgiving! Friday night I went to my friend’s lake house with Jenna and spent the night sitting and talking, catching up with a bunch of my friends from high school. Saturday I went to the farmers market with my mom and picked up fresh vegetables and goodies for a BBQ we’d be having that night. The Toziers came over, and after, all of my friends from high school came over. We were able to have bon fire, sit and talk with my parents and enjoy everyone’s company before I left on Sunday.

Home for a weekend!

Home for a weekend!

photo 2

Jenna and I taking on Lake George while home

Jenna and I taking on Lake George while home

The next week consisted of counting down until Friday because I was going to be meeting with my mom, Mummsy, and Aunt Kim in Cape May. The week prior consisted of a hearing, and a briefing, both of which pertained to health. The weekend was GREAT! We stayed at the historic Chalfonte Hotel, which we all agreed was ‘classic’ Cape May. My family has vacationed in Cape May for twenty years, it is filled with historic buildings, a quaint downtown, beautiful beaches, and the ability to walk everywhere! After dinner on Saturday night my mom and I decided to explore the nightlife, we danced the night away!! It was great and I absolutely cannot wait to return in two weeks with the rest of my family.

 

#showmeyourpump in Cape May with Mummsy!

#showmeyourpump in Cape May with Mummsy!

Momma and I dancing the night away

Momma and I dancing the night away

This past week was just as busy! There were no hearings to go to, but I certainly wasn’t bored. Each day there was a new project to accomplish, and I was happy on Friday to finally take a break and prepare for the weekend. Friday night I went to Jazz in the Garden with some of the friends I have made here. We found a spot and sat, talked, even danced a little bit to the live jazz music. It was GREAT! We then went to get tacos for dinner at a nearby restaurant and returned to our building to continue socializing in the courtyard with everyone. On Saturday we went to the zoo! We spent the whole day walking and looking at all of the animals. I loved it! Yesterday was a quiet day, other than collecting goodies at the farmers market, I really spent the day doing laundry and recuperating from the weekend.

 

Jazz in the Garden

Jazz in the Garden

Jazz in the Garden with Abigail

Jazz in the Garden with Abigail

OWEN & Jazz in the Garden

OWEN & Jazz in the Garden

Today I was able to have lunch with the Shanahans! They live in New York and Bridget has Type 1. It is always fun seeing her and talking diabetes everything. We even took a “show me your pump” picture to support Miss Idaho 2014 who also has T1D!

#showmeyourpump

#showmeyourpump

So, I know this post was rather dry and quickly moved through three weeks of activities. But I promise there will be more posts in the coming week with interesting topics! I cannot believe there are only two weeks left to this AMAZING summer!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

