Is This What Growing Pains Feel Like?

Hello week four! My third week was frustrating, joyful, and full of laughs. Monday I was able to lie by the pool, under the sun all day. Relaxation at its best! Monday night and Tuesday were a little different. I went for my usual run through the National Mall, did my usual post work out routine and went to sleep. I then woke up in the middle of the night very high, then dropped low, and then went high after correcting my low. As my friend put, “riding the rollercoaster”. Due to the stress on my body I slept through my alarm and woke up at 9:36. (I had to be at work at 9:30) I frantically called my supervisor, apologizing while running around my apartment trying to find an outfit for the day! Thankfully Claire was very understanding and told me to take a breath and come into work when I could. Wednesday followed with a leisure day of working with excel sheets and cutting cards for upcoming walks. Mia, Anna, and myself were let out a little early and decided to go shopping together. We spent the whole afternoon looking for outfits for the fourth and eventually found some! Later that night I attended a movie in the park with some other interns. The neighborhood I live in, NoMa puts on a movie every Wednesday. The food trucks come and everyone brings blankets, food and drinks, basically a huge get together on Wednesday nights!

We were also told that the interns didn’t have to come in on Thursday, all we had to do was take two pictures with diabetes related captions in reference to the Fourth of July. Therefore our weekend had begun! Thursday I did my picture project and sat by the pool once again. (I’m really working on my tan!)

July 4th Cupcakes with the Capitol building in the background!

July 4th Cupcakes with the Capitol building in the background!

USA USA (with glucose tabs of course)

USA USA (with glucose tabs of course)

My plans for the Fourth included snack foods and posting up at the National Mall until fire works with other interns looking to enjoy all that DC has to offer. We left around 2pm and walked until we found a spot under a tree. We spent the day sitting and eating, taking periodic walks, listening to live music and enjoying the pace of it all. My friend Owen and I took a walk to the Lincoln Memorial (it was very long) and got to see my one of my best friends. Owen was one of the first interns I met here in DC and he was very welcoming! The walk consisted of not only joking, which seems to be how our personalities mesh, but also talks on subjects with depth. Charlsie and I were random roommates freshman year and became the best of friends! Even though the visit was short, it was wonderful. The rest of the day was spent the same as the beginning of the day, we were able to watch fireworks and trekked it home to continue the celebrations on our rooftop. I think we saw at least ten other firework shows from our rooftop, it was amazing!

 

The MLK monument

The MLK monument

Charlsie and I

Charlsie and I

Owen and I at sunset!

Owen and I at sunset!

FIREWORKS

FIREWORKS

IMG_1736

Saturday through Monday consisted of relaxing by the pool, laundry, cleaning, and a great deal of reflection. Is this what growing feels like? I find myself creating relationships with people I never imagined I would. The friendships I have made at my internship are filled with laughs and more talks pertaining to diabetes, living in DC, roommates, and just life as twenty year olds. In addition to these friendships, I find myself becoming closer with those who I again did not expect to grow with and separate from others. While we’ve all been taught that people go different ways, when it happens it becomes reality. I do believe people come in and out of your life at the right times and for reasons that often do not make sense. You learn that depending on these people is okay, and opening up to these new relationships is even more OK. Therefore I am happily growing, continuing to start each day with an open mind ready for the events and relationships that are being offered to me at this moment.

Standard

Leave a Reply

